Claisebrook Cove, Perth

The Urban Sketchers Perth monthly meeting took place this morning at Claisebrook Cove in East Perth. We were scheduled to meet last weekend but due to awful winter weather we postponed a week, and this morning turned out to be beautiful….warm(ish) and sunning with a blue sky, worth waiting for. I decided to sit on the grassy knoll in the Victoria Gardens – a great view across the Swan River to the new almost completed sports stadium. My sketch isn’t quite accurate (I should have done some measuring first but was too keen to sketch) as I’ve made the stadium taller that it actually is. Overall I’m OK with my sketch, I moved some of the trees around to change the composition, I would make other changes if sketching again…..

This second sketch is of “Henry Lawson Walk” a view across the cove to the new townhouses that rise up on either side of the inlet….I didn’t have much time for this sketch so it’s mostly ink with just a dot of colour for a red front door and some planter boxes hanging onto the balcony….

Leave a Reply

