Kings Park – Zamia Cafe

20150727 Kings Park Zamia Cafe (2) small

Met up with the lovely outdoor folk again this arvo, this time in Kings Park next to the Zamia Cafe (Western Power Playground) for a quick bit of sketching. It was sunny and warmish for a mid winters day…. quite bright in the direct sun so I sat under a shady gum tree so I wasn’t dazzled by the white page. I sketched the Vietnam War Veterans pavilion which was a bit of a struggle, should really have layed down some pencil guide lines to help me with the perspective, but as usual I just dived right in with indelible ink and made corrections as I went along….hence some wonky beams and a slightly “Escher”-esque look to the front of the building. The tree trunk lying on the ground had some wonderful ridges and texture… I could have done a drawing of that on it’s own. The finished painting looked rather boring (not a great composition) so I added in a couple of figures at the end which gave the picture a bit more interest.

20150727 Kings Park Zamia Cafe (1) small

The second page is just a random collection of people standing around enjoying the park, I was experimenting with water-soluble ink and using a waterbrush to pull out the shadows. trying to get them down on paper before they moved.

Leave a Reply

